To view Histories of Districts and Private Lodges, please click Links on right.



W. H. Wolsey states in his book "Orangeism in Portadown District" published in 1935:-


"It is interesting to note that the order of the Districts goes back to June 6th, 1814. On that date at the half-yearly meeting of the County Grand Lodge, held in Henry Walker's Portadown, it was unanimously agreed that each District should draw for their different places, when the lot fell as follows:

Portadown 1st, Richhill 2nd, Loughgall 3rd, Tandragee 4th, Armagh 5th, Lurgan 6th, Camlough 7th, Killylea 8th, Newtownhamilton 9th, Blackwatertown 10th and Keady 11th.


The first six mentioned and Newtownhamilton retain the numbers received in 1814, but Killylea is now 7th, Keady 8th, Markethill 10th and Bessbrook 11th."





County Armagh Grand Orange Lodge 2008


Design and Development by Jim Reaney